Does Perfection Exist?

Perfection Sign Image
Photo Credit: pipehacker.com

Does it? Does it actually exist? In my opinion, the short answer is, definitely, no.

Dictionary.com gives this definition:

noun
1. the state or quality of being or becoming perfect.
2. the highest degree of proficiency, skill, or excellence, as in some art.
3. a perfect embodiment or example of something.
4. a quality, trait, or feature of the highest degree of excellence.
5. the highest or most nearly perfect degree of a quality or trait.
6. the act or fact of perfecting.

Merriam-Webster says this:

per·fec·tion
noun \pər-ˈfek-shən\

: the state or condition of being perfect

: the act of making something perfect or better : the act of perfecting something

: something that cannot be improved : something that is perfect

1 : the quality or state of being perfect: as…
   a : freedom from fault or defect : flawlessness
   b : maturity
   c : the quality or state of being saintly
2 a : an exemplification of supreme excellence
   b : an unsurpassable degree of accuracy or excellence
3 : the act or process of perfecting

Wikipedia simply says:

Perfection is, broadly, a state of completeness and flawlessness.

Now, after all of those tidy definitions, the long answer, as an addendum to the short, sweet, ‘no’ above, is perfection can’t exist. To attain it would mean stopping. Stopping everything…growing, learning, experiencing… If true perfection is reached, what is left? Nothing, as sad as that sounds.

Perfection Myth Image
Photo Credit: womenonthefence.com

I get periodic emails from an Indian woman in Massachusetts that is a Psychic/Akashic Reader. I got a reading from her on my birthday two years ago (boy, was that interesting). The email I got today was about vulnerability. Here is an excerpt:

Have you ever felt so raw inside that you just want to hide in a hole? That the last thing on your mind is being vulnerable? What if being vulnerable opens doors?

There was a time years ago when I was going through a deep depression. The dark night of the soul. I couldn’t function, my emotions overwhelmed me and the desire to even be on the planet was minimal.

I was walking around a my favorite lake in emotional pain and tears were running down my face. So many people looked away, avoided me. I realized then that they were uncomfortable with my imperfections. That I was infringing on their comfort level. Or perhaps they didn’t know what to do. Either way, I was ignored by them.

I almost decided to stop crying, get in my car and go home so I wouldn’t upset anyone. But something inside of me decided that being vulnerable mattered more. This was what I was feeling and experiencing.

A few very kind people stopped and asked me if I was okay. I told them the truth. That I was really sad and that crying helped it release. I was authentic. I didn’t pretend I was okay, because I wasn’t. One woman gave me a hug and reminded me that I would find a solution. I got to talk to her about her life and how she’d changed it. It was a gift, my vulnerability brought me her wisdom and kindness. I still remember her fondly.

What if we’re willing to be so vulnerable that we’re authentic. Ourselves no MATTER what. Real, raw, open.

What if that has more potency than perfection? Perfection is a result (an unrealistic one), where there is no improvement, change, expansion. Vulnerability opens doors and windows to our souls journey and it allows others in. Perfection cannot allow anyone in. If you allow them in while being perfect, your secrets will be exposed. With vulnerability there are no secrets.

Perfection is the high sugar, no nutrition version of being the self. It’s the, let me pretend I’m someone or something so the world doesn’t judge me.

Unfortunately for many of us, we’ve been punished, judged, ignored for being ourselves. That being who we are is a wrong, bad and offensive. Enough already!

George Orwell Quote Image

As she states, above, perfection is an unrealistic goal. Our culture bombards us with images of someone else’s idea of perfection. Who are they to speak for us? For you? For me? Chasing after the ‘perfection’ that is fed to us on a daily basis via our media is a futile effort. It wastes time and prevents all of us from growing. Blonde hair and perfect teeth are not the answer to all of your problems. YOU are the answer to all of your problems. Quit trying to be someone else’s idea of ‘perfect’. No such thing exists. Expansion and experience leads to more expansion and experience…and just think of the people you will meet along the way. Be YOU and no one else. Anything else is a waste of energy.

Leave A Note ~ Share A Thought

